Association: Suffolk

County Colonel: Lt Col Mark Wenham

Mark Wenham was born in Eye, Suffolk.  Educated at Stonyhurst College he attended the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst and was commissioned into the 1st Battalion Royal Anglian Regiment in 1980 on a Regular Commission.

Young officer appointments with 1 R ANGLIAN were in Germany, Northern Ireland, UK, Belize, Canada and Gibraltar.  Adventure Training Instructor, Infantry Junior Leaders Battalion, and Jungle Warfare Instructor in Australia.

After a staff appointment at the Director of Infantry he returned to I R ANGLIAN as Fire Support / Screen Company Commander and then Rifle Company Commander in 24 Airmobile Brigade where he served in Northern Ireland and Bosnia. He was appointed Battalion Second in Command 2 R ANGLIAN in Warminster and then Cyprus.

He studied for a Masters degree at Cranfield University followed by a staff appointment at the Army Personnel Centre and then promotion to Lieutenant Colonel.  He deployed to Afghanistan and then to British Forces Cyprus and subsequently a tour to MND(SE), Iraq.

He was then posted as Chief Public Affairs Officer and spokesman for HQ Allied Rapid Reaction Corps.  This tour included a deployment to Helmand, Afghanistan and to ISAF Joint Command. In 2012 he was posted as Chief Instructor of the UK Defence Media Operations Centre and latterly as Head.

Since leaving the Army in 2015 Mark has returned to Suffolk and now works as a freelance strategic communications and crisis management consultant. He was appointed County Colonel for Suffolk in 2017.


County Colonel: Lt Col M H Wenham

Chairman: Brigadier AJK Calder OBE DL

Treasurer: Lt Col Peter Dixon OBE    


Bury & District Branch

Chairman: Tim Davies: 20 Canterbury Green, BSE, IP33 2LJ

Secretary: Mrs P J Davies: tel: 01284-768007



Chairman: Alan Coyne: Bumble Bee Hive, 15 Redwing Close, Ipswich IP2 0RQ


Stowmarket Branch

Chairman: B K Wright:

Secretary: Mrs B Miller: 35 Thackery Road, Stowmarket, IP14 1RE


Felixstowe Branch

Chairman: Barry Grunnell: 49 Exeter Road, Felixstowe, IP11 7SJ

Secretary: Mrs Helen Grunnell : tel: 01394-270146


Lowestoft Branch

Chairman: Godfrey Wood: 28 Summerfield Gardens, Lowestoft, NR33 9BS

Secretary: Mrs R Coote, 76 Tedder Road, Lowestoft, NR32 4DD 


Leiston Branch

Chairman: A J Watson: 57 St Margaret’s Crescent, Leiston, Suffolk, IP16 4HP


Beccles Branch

Chairman: M E Read: 143 The Avenue, Lowestoft, Suffolk, NR33 7LJ

Secretary: A Beckett: 11 Woods Loke West, Oulton Broad, Suffolk, NR32 3DN


Suffolk Regimental Museum

The Keep, Gibraltar Barracks, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3RN

Open every Wednesday and first Sunday of the month: 09.30-15.30


Regimental Chapel

St Mary’s Church, Honey Hill, Bury St Edmunds, IP33 1RT

Parish Office:  tel 01284-754680           Parish email:



© 2019 The Royal Anglian Regiment.   All rights reserved